With a staycation, there’s no stuffing four pairs of shoes into an already overstuffed suitcase. With a staycation, there’s no pesky air travel. With a staycation, there’s no landing in Santorini only to find out that your luggage has gone missing and you have to make a single pair of underwear last god knows how long (not to mention the fact that the only bathing suit available in the closest shop is a string bikini: the horror!!!). Nope. With a staycation, I can full-on relax in my clearly defined comfort zone, slipping seamlessly from night leggings to day leggings and back again, not worrying about whether or not I have the correct piece of apparel for every possible scenario. With a staycation, I don’t have to worry about getting a traffic ticket from Florence, Italy seven months later, presumably for driving through a restricted area. With a staycation, I don’t have to worry about getting stranded on the secluded outer reaches of an island when the gas in my rented four-wheeler runs out. With a staycation, I can just…read. If I have you convinced, then the only question left is: What to read? Here are a few suggestions based on some recent favorite reads. And there you have it. My staycation must-haves. If these aren’t enough (understandable; you wouldn’t believe how many books I read on my last vacation), I suggest you check out this list of beach reads, or this mega list of the buzziest and best summer reads for 2022.

The Best Books to Read on Staycation - 94The Best Books to Read on Staycation - 15The Best Books to Read on Staycation - 9The Best Books to Read on Staycation - 69The Best Books to Read on Staycation - 82The Best Books to Read on Staycation - 96The Best Books to Read on Staycation - 6The Best Books to Read on Staycation - 34The Best Books to Read on Staycation - 7The Best Books to Read on Staycation - 4The Best Books to Read on Staycation - 31The Best Books to Read on Staycation - 82