It was eventually determined that she would need surgery for her shoulder. But then the pandemic hit and her treatment was delayed. A year and a half later, she still has shoulder pain and tires easily. She goes to physical therapy three times a week. Sometimes, she has flare-ups and needs cortisone shots. She’s nervous about driving very far. My father, meanwhile, has been wrestling with chronic depression and anxiety for years (we two are birds of a feather…). In recent years, his hands have developed tremors that have become increasingly worse. Testing has revealed inadequate answers. Amidst other medical issues, it also emerged that my father was experiencing memory problems. The other month, he was diagnosed with mild cognitive impairment which, in 50% of cases, can grow into full-blown dementia. I’ve had an interest in end-of-life care for a while now, mostly because of what I observed when my mom was caring for her own father. I’ve written previously about the books I’ve enjoyed that tackle end-of-life care, compassion fatigue, and caregiver burnout. More recently, the topic has become a side niche for me in my journalism work. In a piece that went live on Rewire.org last month, I write about the lack of systemic support for unpaid family caregivers. All this time, I felt I was preparing for something. After all, I’m 40. My parents are 70. But as the past two years have brought more challenges — both with their health and with the decisions I was forced to make for my 6-year-old as COVID spread across the world — I realized I wasn’t prepared at all. So, I turned to books. Because of course I did. That’s what I do. And while I’m still scared of the inevitable shift to come in the next few years, I at least feel more grounded in what it all means, and what options we have. If you, too, are entering the “sandwich generation,” allow me to share which books were helpful for me.

The Books Keeping Me Grounded as I Contemplate Becoming a Care Partner to My Parents - 47The Books Keeping Me Grounded as I Contemplate Becoming a Care Partner to My Parents - 58The Books Keeping Me Grounded as I Contemplate Becoming a Care Partner to My Parents - 25The Books Keeping Me Grounded as I Contemplate Becoming a Care Partner to My Parents - 26